Board Chair Deb Hoarty Receives Award from Nebraska Hospital Association


The NHA Executive Committee established the NHA Trustee of the Year Award to recognize the outstanding contributions of a hospital trustee who has contributed to enhancing the overall quality of health care services provided to their community; contributed to the continued viability of their organization through leadership in diversification and new ventures, merger, affiliation, restructuring, sale or expansion of service; Illustrated creativity and innovation in shaping the future vision of the organization; demonstrated the ability to build consensus; shown the ability to analyze issues, define problems and bring issues to successful resolution.

Deb Hoarty has served in the position of Trustee for Fillmore County Hospital since 2007 and has served as Board Chair for the past 11 years. She has overseen three different administrators in that time period and has overseen two transitions to new leadership for much different reasons – one for retirement and the other for death after a long illness. She’s navigated those transitions gracefully in every instance. She effectively serves as a link to the recent and distant past in that she also oversaw the new hospital building project in 2012 as well as the current expansion/renovation project that is set to complete in 2024. With all of this, she shows no signs and has no plans of slowing down. We thank Deb for all of her support and leadership over the years. Congratulations on being selected as the 2023 Trustee of the Year for the Nebraska Hospital Association!

Pictured Left to Right: Lisa Hopken CNO, Dayle Harlow CFO, Abby Alfs CHRO, Deb Hoarty Board Chair, Chris Nichols CEO, and Shari Michl Director of Quality